Monmouth County's Ask The Doctor September/October 2019

Beginners Guide on the Seven Chakras By Pam Teel

Chakras are the circular vortexes of energy that are placed in seven differ- ent points on the spinal column. All the seven chakras are connected to the various organs and glands within the body. These chakras are responsible for distributing the life energy, which is also known as Qi or Prana. The entire uni- verse is made of energy, and your body is no exception. Ancient cultures knew that all living things carried a life force with them. They called the centers of energy that moved inside of us the 7 chakras. Chakra is an old Sanskrit word that literally means wheel. This is because the life force, or prana, that moves inside of you is spinning and rotating. This spinning energy has 7 centers in your body, starting at the base of your spine and moving all the way up to the top of your head. In a healthy, balanced person, the 7 chakras provide the right balance of energy to every part of your body, mind, and spirit.

H E A L T H Y M I N D & S O U L

Whenever the harmonious balance of a chakra is disrupted or blocked, the life energy also gets blocked, leading to the onset of mental, emotional, and

health problems. It’s important to understand what each Chakra represents and what we can do to keep the energy flowing freely. Subtle energies flow in and out through the chakras, also known as the psychic centres. The spine is like a stem and chakras are like the flowers growing from this stem through the body and a few inches in front of the body. The crown chakra, the highest chakra, is located at the very top of our head. It represents our ability to be fully connected spiritu- ally. Its Emotional issues represent inner and outer beauty and pure bliss. Its physical association is to the pineal gland, brain and the nervous system. Third eye chakra is located on the forehead between the eyes. It speaks to our ability to see the big picture. Emotional issues: intuition, imagination, wisdom, and ability to think and make decisions. Its physical association is with the pineal gland, sinuses, and eyes.

Throat chakra is located on the throat. Emotional issues represent communication, self-expression of feelings and truth. Its phys- ical association is with the thyroid, vocal chords, respiratory system, and teeth.

Heart chakra is located at the center of the chest just above the heart. It’s our ability to love. Its emotional issues: love, joy, and inner peace. Its physical association is with the heart, lower lungs, thymus, circulatory system, and immune system.

Solar plexus chakra is located in the abdomen in the stomach area. It speaks to your ability to be confident and in control of your life. Its emotional issues include self worth, self-confidence, and self esteem. Its physical association includes the central nervous system, pancreas, liver, digestive tract, and skin.

Sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen two inches below the navel and two inches in. It is all about our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. Its emotional issue: sense of abundance, well-being and sexuality and pleasure.

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine in the tailbone area. It represents our foundation of feeling of being grounded. Emotional issues: survival, financial issues, money, and food. Physical association is with the spine, rectum, legs arms, and circu- latory system.

...continued on page 25




Made with FlippingBook - Online Brochure Maker